ORGANIZATIONS – September 2021

Dennis Slater
Megan Tanel

The Association of Equipment Manufacturers, Milwaukee, has named Senior Vice President, Construction & Utility Sector Megan Tanel successor to President Dennis Slater, who will retire at the end of 2021, capping a nearly 40-year career with AEM and its predecessor. Tanel joined AEM in 1995 and grew into her present post after leading AEM exhibitions and events initiatives, including the 2001 World of Asphalt launch, followed by a director role responsible for The Utility Expo (formerly ICUEE), staged every two years in Louisville, Ky., and ConExpo-Con/Agg, held every three years in Las Vegas. AEM Directors credit she and her team with growing the association’s trade show revenue by 80 percent over a 12-year period, thanks in part to their work to establish strategic relationships with global partners.

Slater joined the Construction Industry Manufacturers Association in 1982, becoming president in 1998 and maintaining that title as CIMA and the Equipment Manufacturers Institute merged in 2002 to form AEM. The AEM Board cites his role in transforming the association, which has grown by 50 percent to 1,000-plus member companies and logged revenue gains nearly seven-fold, to $60 million annually. 

“Through Dennis’ leadership and impressive contributions, AEM has built tremendous value and momentum for our members and the industry,” says 2021 AEM Chair Steve Berglund (Trimble Inc.). “On behalf of the AEM Board, I thank him for his steadfast leadership and vision in support of member companies.”