Concrete masonry commons

The National Concrete Masonry Association Education & Research Foundation and Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture have named 2023 Concrete Masonry Student Competition winners. The program challenged students to use concrete masonry products as the primary material in the design of a Community Commons for indoor or outdoor gathering, play and shelter. Jurors representing the University of Illinois, Universidad de Puerto Rico and Penn State University chose first, second and third place themed projects plus two honorable mentions, all named here with their designers and faculty sponsors:

  • First Place. “CMU Park,” Siwei Su and Jiaqui Xu, University of Hawaii at Mānoa, Clark Llewellyn
  • Second Place. “Fifth Ward Haven,” Ava Chen, Yifei Zhang, Zee Zeng, Alejandra Lezcano and Michael Zhong, Rice University School of Architecture, Jesus Vassallo
  • Third Place. “Mechanica,” Payton Rohrbaugh, Savannah College of Art and Design, Margaret McManus
  • Honorable Mention. “Nova Commons,” Victoria Cheung, Eldar Latif and Fairuz Sowma, Louisiana State University, Robert Holton and Kristopher Palagi
  • Honorable Mention. “A Tale of Two Mountains,” Joshua Yarbrough, University of Memphis, Marika Snider