The Indiana Ready Mixed Concrete Association presented Ken Mulzer Sr., Mulzer Crushed Stone Inc., with the 2018 E.B. Rayburn Jr. Award, recognizing leadership and innovation in industry marketing efforts. Now retired, Mulzer Sr., along with four siblings, helped grow the family aggregate business into a crushed stone, sand & gravel, concrete and asphalt production powerhouse. The business got its start in 1935 when his father, Arnold Mulzer, and uncles Edgar and Roland formed Mulzer Brothers, a small construction firm. In 1978, the company transformed into what is known today as Mulzer Crushed Stone.

The Interlocking Concrete Pavement Institute has elected officers and directors, led by 2018-19 Chairman Kendall Anderegg, president of Mutual Materials Co. in Bellevue, Wash. Joining her as officers for two-year terms are Chair-Elect Marshall Brown PhD, president of ACM Chemistries Inc., and Secretary/Treasurer Ed Fioroni, PhD, vice president of Sales, Keystone Hardscapes.

“Looking ahead, I’m pleased to tell you that ICPI and the industry are in good hands,” says outgoing ICPI Board Chair Matt Lynch (Oldcastle Architectural). “Kendall brings her extensive business expertise and five generations of family industry history and knowledge to the job. She possesses the vision and drive to lead ICPI and its members forward.”

ICPI has also elected to At-Large Board positions for 2018-2021 terms: ACM Chemistries’ Dean Jurik, vice president – Sales & Marketing; GCP Applied Technologies’ Bill McHugh, national sales manager; Lehigh Cement’s William Miller, vice president, Sales & Marketing; Best Way Stone’s Paul Pignatelli, manager; and, Brooklin Concrete Products’ Andy Savoie, manager. Two other ICPI members were newly appointed to the Board by virtue of chairing the ICPI Education and Meetings, Membership & Trade Show Committees, respectively: County Materials’ Darrin Braun, sales representative, and Besser Co.’s Terri Grulke, director–Corporate Advertising.

The NCMA Education and Research Foundation’s 2018 Unit Design Competition exposes students in college or university design and construction programs to concrete masonry and hardscape products. Individual school teams begin in local competitions, proposing an innovative design for a concrete masonry or hardscape unit that can be produced on current equipment. First place teams from the local rounds qualify for the national competition, the top three teams from which will be invited to present their unit design at the NCMA Midyear Meeting, July 31-August 3 in Chicago. Additional information on the competition and entry submissions can be obtained at

Fritz-Pak Corp. President and CEO Gabriel Ojeda is the recipient of the inaugural American Concrete Pumping Association 2017 Hall of Fame Award. Shown here with Central Concrete Pumping’s Carl Walker, he joined Dallas-based Fritz Industries in the 1980s, and began managing international promotion of the newly patented Slick-Pak product in 1994. Four years later, Ojeda seized an opportunity to buy the Fritz Admixture Division, from which he and his wife Jane formed Fritz-Pak Corp. As the business grew, he continued ACPA involvement through committee participation and a board of director appointment.