D. Thomas Ruttura, owner of Ruttura & Sons Construction Co. in West Babylon, N.Y., has received the American Society of Concrete Contractors Lifetime Achievement Award. A past (2003-2004) president of ASCC and its Education, Research & Development Foundation, he chaired and served on numerous Society committees. The Lifetime Achievement Award is group’s highest honor, acknowledging recipients for their body of work within the industry and their service to ASCC.

D. Thomas Ruttura

“Tommy has always been extremely generous with his time, talents and financial contributions to this organization,” says Executive Director Bev Garnant. “He has truly ‘enhanced the capabilities of those who build with concrete’ by showing his experience and expertise in concrete construction and business management with so many of his fellow ASCC members.”

Separately, the ASCC Emerging Leaders Committee presented its second Gaining Strength Award to Jordan Behrens, director of project management and estimating for Kent Companies, Grand Rapids, Mich. The award was established to acknowledge up and coming member company individuals aged 40 and under who go above and beyond to promote and professionally represent the concrete industry—through their actions in the office, field and industry organizations. Candidates are judged on letters of recommendations and letters of acknowledgement from industry organizations with emphasis on participation, commitment, safety awareness, role modeling, and personal skills and knowledge.

Shown here with Belfast Valley Concrete’s Kevin Riley (left), Behrens began his career in 2014 as a laborer performing placing, finishing and forming. He joined Kent Cos. in 2015 as a field intern, and was promoted to project engineer, project manager, senior project manager, then to his current position. “His deep experience in concrete has positioned him as an expert to our customers. He can have tough conversations with clients while maintaining a positive working relationship,” notes Kent Cos. Executive Vice President Matt Fennema.


Chris Plue

Separately, the ASCC Safety and Risk Management Council has named Chris Plue, senior vice president of the Webcor Concrete Division, San Francisco, as 2019 Member Owner Safety Award recipient. The award recognizes one owner or executive of a contractor member who displays a clear focus and passion for safety, and provides the leadership that creates a best-in-class safety culture. Plue is a past president of ASCC and a past Safety and Risk Management Council director.

“He personally has led the change to move his company’s safety culture from good to great,” award judges observe. “Great leaders make it personal and create positive change. Webcor’s EMR has been trending down to a .58 with almost 3.5 million man hours worked. That takes a lot of effort and focus.”

The Associated Builders and Contractors’ Board of Directors has elected Tim Keating, president of R.C. Stevens Construction Co., to serve as 2020 national chair. Joining him on the new officer slate are Chair-Elect Steve Klessig, Keller Inc. vice president of Architecture and Engineering, and Secretary Stephanie Schmidt, president of Poole Anderson Construction.

“With decades of combined industry leadership and experience, the Executive Committee is committed to ABC’s value proposition to help our membership develop people, win work and deliver that work safely, ethically and profitably for the betterment of the communities in which they work,” says ABC CEO Michael Bellaman. “It is an honor to continue to collaborate with Tim, Steve, Stephanie and our 2020 Executive Committee to champion the merit shop philosophy and fair and open competition, as well as create the conditions for those who work in the construction industry to achieve.”

The Association of Equipment Manufacturers has elected 2020 officers: Chairman Jeffrey Reed, chief executive officer of Reed International/VSS Macropaver; Vice Chair Steven Berglund, Trimble Inc. chief executive officer; Construction Equipment Sector Chair Rodney Schrader, Komatsu America Corp. chairman; Treasurer Todd Stucke, Kubota Tractor senior vice president of Marketing; and, Secretary Dennis Slater, AEM staff president.

Officers hail from an industry cross section and work on behalf of all member companies to provide strategic direction and guidance for the association’s initiatives in areas including public policy representation, market information and equipment statistics, trade shows, product safety and technical support. “[AEM] benefits from the support of our member companies and the leadership talents of our Board members,” notes Slater. “Their engagement and contributions help ensure that we deliver quality results as we continue to build momentum for the equipment manufacturing industry and offer the best possible services and programs for members.”