Concrete Pumping Association of Canada is now operating as an American Concrete Pumping Association chapter, but maintaining the CPAC name. A merger will give members from Canada a dedicated forum while continuing to benefit from ACPA’s strong safety, training and concrete pump operator certification program. It creates what ACPA Executive Director Christi Collins calls “synergy and alignment on both sides of the border as we advocate and lobby for shared resources for the greater concrete pumping community.” Concrete pumpers in the United States and Canada share many issues, including those tied to safety, workforce development and promotion, she adds.

“CPAC has worked diligently for many years to create a stronger pumping industry in Canada,” notes CPAC director Daryl Dika of Reach Construction Services. We’re looking forward to the opportunities this merger will bring to strengthen the concrete pumping industry throughout Canada.”

More than 75 members of the Texas Aggregates & Concrete Association convened in Austin last month to meet with state legislators. “Capitol Day is always a great opportunity for our members to help educate legislators and their staffs about matters affecting our industry,” says TACA President David Perkins. “It also lets us build and strengthen relationships to remind legislators how our members value and support the economy and the environment, as well as the sensible and efficient use of our state’s limited natural resources.”

The Wisconsin Ready Mixed Concrete Association named 2019 officers and directors during its annual convention, held in Madison. Officers are Wally Jankowski of Advanced Concrete, president; Mike Tews of Carew Concrete & Supply, vice president; and, Scott Zignego of Zignego Ready Mix, secretary/treasurer. Producer Directors are Todd Brockman of MCC, Inc.; Ron Carlson of Wingra Redi-Mix; Matt Flynn of American Materials; Jason Johnson of Ozinga Ready Mix; Luke Knadle of River City Ready Mix; Mike Rivecca of Riv/Crete Ready Mix; and, Dan Trierweiler of Trierweiler Construction & Supply.

Chris Forster

Chris Forster of Tustin, Calif.-based Largo Concrete has been elected 2019-2020 president of the American Society of Concrete Contractors, St. Louis. Bill Bramschreiber of Charles Pankow Builders, Anthony DeCarlo of TWC Concrete Services, and Mario Garza of Barton Malow have been re-elected vice-presidents. Chris Klemaske of T.B. Penick & Sons has been elected vice president and Kevin Riley of Belfast Valley Contractors treasurer. Separately, ASCC’s Decorative Concrete Council has elected Karen Keyes of Denver-based Art of Concrete, as director; Jeff Eiswerth of Cleveland-based H&C Decorative Concrete Products, as secretary.

The Missouri University of Science and Technology will host the annual Missouri Concrete Conference, May 6-7 at the Havener Center on the Rolla campus. Conference registration is $160 per person. Organizers have scheduled presentations in pavement, construction, ready mixed concrete, plus buildings and structures categories. Speakers will cover such topics as: subdivision street pavement design and specification; thin pavement overlay mixtures; joint load transfer options; performance engineered mixtures; new unified pavement design method; alkali-silica reactivity mitigation; cold weather concreting; maturity testing; high early strength mixtures; entrained air 101; ready mixed plant operations, safety and maintenance; ADA construction practices; floor slab flatness and moisture considerations; drilled shaft concreting; and, current Missouri Department of Transportation research.

Participants can earn certificates for approximately 10 personal development hours. The program will suit ready mixed, cement, aggregate and admixture producers; building and paving contractors; public agencies; consulting engineers; and, testing labs. Registration and additional conference details can be obtained by visiting Information on conference sponsorship is available from the Missouri S&T Office of Professional and Continuing Education, 573/341-6576 or [email protected]. Technical information on the program can be obtained from Dr. David Richardson, 573/341-4487, [email protected].