ACPA honors New Enterprise’s Detwiler, Oregon State’s Weiss

Source: American Concrete Pavement Association, Rosemont, Ill. 

Under the “Celebrating Concrete Victories” banner, the American Concrete Pavement Association named recipients of top annual honors during its 2018 meeting in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. The Hartmann-Hirschman-Egan Award was presented to Don Detwiler, chairman of Pennsylvania-based New Enterprise Stone & Lime Co., for long-standing commitment to advancing technology and elevating concrete pavement quality; plus, a distinguished career and lifelong service to the association and industry. The award is named for past ACPA Secretary-Treasurers Harold Hartmann (1964-1974), Robert Hirschman (1975-1987) and Edward Egan (1988-2007), the latter two also serving as 1967 and 1986 chairmen. 

The Marlin J. Knutson Award for Technical Achievement was presented to Oregon State University School of Civil and Construction Engineering Head Jason Weiss, Ph.D., P.E. Named for ACPA’s chief executive officer from 1985-1998, the award recognizes fundamental advancement of concrete pavement durability through applied research, including application of ring, dual-ring and resistivity tests, plus the “formation factor.” Some of Professor Weiss’ notable technical achievements are reflected in the “Performance Engineered Mixtures” program, equipping the Federal Highway Administration, state departments of transportation and industry to work collaboratively to develop the next generation specification for concrete pavement quality assurance. 

Also during the 2018 meeting, ACPA named a) the Village of Kimberly, Wis., as the Harold J. Halm Presidential Award recipient, recognizing the town’s attainment of 100 percent concrete street or road pavements; b) City of Boulder, Colo., and Florida Department of Transportation District 5 as Lifetime Pavement Recognition Award recipients, each harboring concrete thoroughfares with seven-plus decades’ service life; and, Florida DOT and Archern Western Constructors as Sustainable Practices Award recipients for a design-build contract in Jacksonville. 


Related article

Cemex veteran Mack, well-traveled pavement engineer, chairs ACPA