Keystone system arrives first in Florida DOT SRW specs

The Florida Department of Transportation has approved Keystone Retaining Wall Systems’ KeySystem II for use on state and federal highways under the agency. The system consists of Keystone Compac III units and TenCate Geosynthetics’ namesake Miragrid geogrids. Under FDOT Specification Section 548: Retaining Wall Systems, KeySystem II is approved as a “segmental block FDOT wall type 4A and 4B (permanent). The system is to be used with TenCate Miragrid 3XT, 5XT, 7XT, 8XT or 10XT only.”

PHOTO: Keystone Retaining Wall System

Leading into the Florida DOT approval, engineers specified KeySystem II for a St. Louis Light Rail Line crossing and an Interstate 210 abutment in east Texas.

KeySystem II is the only SRW block assembly to date to earn such approval. It is available in the Sunshine State through licensee Tremron, a leading Southeast hardscape unit producer with Jacksonville and Lakeland, Fla., and Douglasville, Ga., operations, plus design centers and installer showrooms throughout the region.

The Florida transportation system is one of scale, scope and complexity: The state is the third most-populated in the country and has 122,659 highway miles, 20 commercial airports, 31 urban transit systems, 15 seaports, and two spaceports. Improving the safety and security of the transportation system is among the state’s highest commitments to its residents and visitors. — Keystone Retaining Wall Systems LLC, Minneapolis,