ACI awards BASF’s Goodwin, Lafarge’s Buffenbarger at Concrete Convention

The American Concrete Institute and ACI Foundation named 2015 recipients of legacy awards during Concrete Convention and Exposition activities last month in Denver.

The ACI Foundation Concrete Research Council presented the a) Arthur J. Boase Award to Andrew Taylor, FACI, associate at KPFF Consulting Engineers, Seattle, for his active contributions through research and committee work to the advancement of seismic performance of reinforced concrete structures and to the development of design guides through application of the results of structural concrete research; and, b) the Robert E. Philleo Award to Ramón Carrasquillo, FACI, an Austin, Texas, consultant for contributions to the advancement of concrete technology through education, research, and consulting.

The Jean-Claude Roumain Innovation in Concrete Award was presented to Fred Goodwin, FACI, scientist in the Product Development Group of BASF Construction Chemicals, Beachwood, Ohio, for over 30 years of leadership in areas including cement production; research & development and technical support.

The Concrete Sustainability Award went to LafargeHolcim Construction Specialist Julie Buffenbarger, FACI, in recognition of leadership on the subject; guidance as chair of ACI Committee 130, Sustainability; and, co-chair of ACI sustainability forums.

The Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes nonmembers who have made notable contributions to the advancement of the industry through their support of concrete utilization. Castle Rock Construction Co. of Centennial, Colo., received this year’s award for innovation, information sharing, and concrete promotion.

The ACI Young Professional Essay Contest Award, sponsored by ACI Young Professional Activities Committee, went to Shane Maxemow, structural engineer at Robert Silman in Washington, D.C., for “Listen, Learn, and Pass it On.”


The Concrete Convention also saw announcement of the 2015 ACI Pervious Concrete Student Competition winners. Students placing first, second, and third place in the Cylinder Performance, and Cementitious Efficiency categories each received cash awards of $750, $500, and $250, respectively. Teams were challenged to apply sustainability concepts and use their knowledge of concrete mix design by producing pervious concrete that balanced permeability and splitting tensile strength. They were additionally challenged to develop a mixture that demonstrated cementitious efficiency—maintaining the overall concrete performance with the lowest amount of cementitious material.

Finishing first, second and third in the Cylinder Performance category were, respectively, teams from Ryerson University under faculty advisor Dr. Medhat Shehata; FES Aragon Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico under faculty advisor Jose Paulo Mejorada Mota; and, Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana – Unidad Azcapotzalco under faculty advisor Dr. Francisco González Díaz.

Finishing first and second in the Cemetitious Efficiency category were two teams from University of Puerto Rico –Mayagüez, both under faculty advisor Arsenio Cáceres. A Valparaiso University team under faculty advisor Jacob Henschen finished third.