NPCA Charts Course for Next 50 Years

Andy Wieser, president of Wieser Concrete Products in Maiden Rock, Wis., has been appointed the National Precast Concrete Association chairman, the term beginning at the NPCA 50th Annual Convention, held earlier this fall in Minneapolis. “It has been a great 50-year run, however, like any successful organization we have to continue to change to stay relevant,” Wieser told members upon his election. “With this strong foundation beneath us, we will continue to evolve in a very positive way. I’m honored to serve as chairman as we begin the next 50 years.”

Hy Grade Precast’s Dominic Girotti (left) presents Chuck Babbert the Yoakum Award.

Rounding out the 2015-16 NPCA officers are Chairman-elect Greg Stratis of Shea Concrete Products in Amesbury, Mass., and Secretary/Treasurer Ashley Smith of Smith Midland Corp. in Midland, Va. In addition, the association elected to the board for three-year terms Amy Burnett of Barbour Concrete Products in Independence, Mo.; Donald Graham of Jensen Precast in Sparks, Nev.; and, Marianne Methven of Hamilton Form Co. in Richland Hills, Texas. Michael Hoffman of Lindsay Precast in Canal Fulton, Ohio, will serve a second three-year term.

The 50th Annual Convention also saw NPCA name top individual award recipients. Chuck Babbert, president of Sales for E.C. Babbert Inc. in Canal Winchester, Ohio, was presented the Robert E. Yoakum Award for long-time service to the industry and association. Brent Dezember of StructureCast in Bakersfield, Calif., was presented the Douglas G. Hoskin Award for membership recruitment.