NRMCA chairman, committees honor annual award recipients

National Ready Mixed Concrete Association committees and divisions recognized individuals and groups for association and industry contributions. Following Drivers of the Year Edward Rieper (Eastern Concrete Materials) and Pete Scarborough (Concrete Supply Co.), who were featured in March (“Front Line Excellence,” pages 32-33), Concrete Products joins NRMCA here in saluting others honored during the 2015 convention, by AWARD:



Bill Geiger

The Business Administration Committee (BAC) presented the 2015 Allen Award to Bill Geiger, who has led his family’s business for 47 years. Geiger Ready-Mix has grown to encompass seven plants at five locations and a fleet of 120 mixer trucks serving the greater Kansas City area. He is a strong proponent of practicing the “Geiger Way,” which defines the company’s purpose as “adding value to the lives of our customers, employees and suppliers in a positive and professional manner.”
The Allen Award is named after one of the industry’s most distinguished and accomplished figures, who had more than 55 years of concrete and aggregates-related experience and was a longtime participant in BAC and other NRMCA activities.


Promoter of the Year
22 Theron 200

Theron Tobolski

This award recognizes outstanding contributions by a NRMCA producer member employee. The Promotion Committee named Prairie Material’s Theron Tobolski, who recently transitioned from product specialist to a land management post, as 2015 Promoter of the Year. It especially acknowledges his spearheading of roller compacted concrete pavement in Chicago, netting Prairie Material upwards of 50,000 cu. yd. of RCC mix deliveries over a five-year period—most of the jobs at the expense of asphalt alternatives.


State Affiliate Promoter of the Year
22 Jereme 200

Jereme Montgomery

The Promotion Committee presented Nebraska Concrete & Aggregates Association Executive Director Jereme Montgomery this award honoring NRMCA partner organization staff. Among Montgomery’s noteworthy accomplishments: building concrete parking lot market share and promoting a pervious concrete pavement quality assurance program. The latter spurred new business for association members by emphasizing methods for accurate prediction of hardened slabs’ void content, enabling prediction of water/runoff infiltration, strength and density.


Richard D. Gaynor
22 Nick 200

Nicholas Carino

The Research, Engineering & Standards Committee selected Wiss Janney Elstner Associates-affiliated consultant Dr. Nicholas Carino as 2015 recipient of an award for individuals who have made significant contributions to the ready mixed concrete industry in committee-focused areas. Based in Cleveland, Dr. Carino is active in standards organizations; a strong proponent of performance-based requirements for concrete; and, an expert on non-destructive testing, primarily the maturity method. The award is named for one of the post-war years’ longest serving NRMCA and National Aggregates Association staff members, who retired in 1996 as executive vice president.


22 Greg 200

Greg Vickers

The 2015 Carpenter Award recipient is Greg Vickers, general manager of Monumental Concrete Co., Washington, D.C. His 35-plus years in concrete and allied industries spans tours of duty with Tarmac America, Continental Mixers, Schwing America, and the NRMCA OES Division. Vickers has spearheaded many successful endeavors, including the annual Fleet Benchmarking Survey, revised Annual Safety Contest, and Fleet Managers Course, while also leading staff efforts behind the annual National Mixer Driver Championship. An equipment and fleet management manager at West Palm Beach, Fla.-based Rinker Materials, Joseph Carpenter was instrumental in forming the NRMCA Committee on Maintenance, since evolved to Operations, Environmental & Safety Committee.


22 Kearney 200

Stan Poff
22 Ricardo 200

Ricardo Ramirez

The Manufacturers, Products & Services Division named Nebraska’s Kearney Concrete and San Jose-based Central Concrete Supply Co. as Concrete Cares award recipients, respectively, in the categories of Under 250,000 yd. and Over 250,000 yd. annual ready mixed output. Kearney Concrete was recognized for its support of cancer-related organizations, leading to the formation of a nonprofit group, Concrete Cares of Nebraska. Kearney Concrete President Stan Poff accepted the award, clad in the color synonymous with breast cancer research and prevention. 

Central Concrete Supply was recognized for its community outreach program. Central Cares encourages employees to nominate charitable organizations to which they are personally committed for inclusion in the producer’s annual giving program. In 2014, 21 San Francisco Bay Area charitable organizations received support from the program. Shop Foreman Ricardo Ramirez, a founding Central Cares committee member and 21-year Central Concrete veteran, accepted the award.


23 Chairman 300

Ric Suzio (left)and Gary Mullings

The award spotlights extraordinary dedication to NRMCA. 2014 Chairman Ric Suzio (L. Suzio Concrete Co.) chose NRMCA Senior Vice President, Compliance & Operations Gary Mullings as this year’s recipient. A 41-year NRMCA veteran, Mullings manages Operations, Environmental & Safety Committee activities, administering educational and programs, and developing guidance on regulatory compliance for the industry. He advocates for the industry on regulations governing plants, trucks, safety and environmental management practices. Mullings transitioned to the Silver Spring, Md., headquarters staff after a solid tenure at the NRMCA Research Laboratory in nearby College Park.


23 CalCIMA 300

Charley Rea and Melanie O’Regan

The California Construction and Industrial Materials Association was recognized for such accomplishments as “Distance Matters,” an advocacy tool in support of the idea that local materials suppliers provide the greatest environmental benefit for the state. A website, pamphlet and fact sheet explain how greenhouse gases are reduced with local material supplies. CalCIMA also initiated the development of a specification with the California Department of Transportation and California Department of Measurement Standards to allow use of returned plastic concrete. The final product will include an environmental benefits document, specification and protocol certification. Accepting the 2015 State Association of the Year Award were CalCIMA’s Charley Rea and CalPortland Vice President and General Manager Melanie O’Regan.