ORGANIZATIONS – February 2015

45-BR-Ty-200The National Precast Concrete Association Board of Directors has extended through 2019 the contract of staff President Ty Gable, a certified association executive and American Society of Association Executives fellow who has led the Carmel, Ind., organization since 1994.

During his tenure, NPCA membership has more than doubled while its annual trade exhibit, The Precast Show, has grown into the largest event for the manufactured concrete products industry in North America. NPCA’s plant certification program has evolved from a handful of participants to more than 370 facilities. The certification is recognized in 40 states and accredited by the American National Standards Institute. Other NPCA initiatives Gable has presided over in recent years are Precast University with a curriculum for production workers, concluding with a Master Precaster designation; online education; and, a new industry marketing program.

NPCA Board of Directors Chairman Michael Tidwell (Bartow Precast) announced the contract renewal after the association’s board meeting late last year, noting: “Over the past 20 years, NPCA has emerged as a premier industry association under the leadership of Mr. Gable and we look forward to his continued involvement during the coming years.”

“Concrete is the best building material in the world, and the growing emphasis on modularity, sustainable construction and new technology aligns with many of the benefits of precast,” Gable adds.

Joining the National Concrete Masonry Association board of directors for 2015 terms are Region I, Matt Lynch of Anchor Block, Manasquan, N.J.; Region II, Steve Berry of Oldcastle APG-South, Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., and Brantley Rivers of Acme Block & Brick, Crossville, Tenn.; Region III, William Meade of Meade Concrete Products, Nicholasville, Ky.; Region IV, Ed Watson of Acme Brick/Featherlite Building Products, Fort Worth, Texas; Region V, Phil Bonnell of Basalite Concrete Products, Denver, and Greg Gibbel of Quikrete Cos.; Region VI, Paul Hargest of Boehmers/Hargest Block Ltd., Kitchener, Ontario, and Gary Belisle of Permacon/Oldcastle Architectural Canada, Anjou, Quebec.

During its Education Conference in San Diego, California Construction & Industrial Materials Association has announced recipients—producer member companies or individuals—of its 2014 safety and recognition awards. Named in Outstanding Safety Leadership Awards category are Paulo Machado, batch operator at the Cemex Modesto Ready Mix Plant; and, Gary Andrade, plant operator and mechanic at Graniterock Southside Sand & Gravel. Excellence and Safety Award recipients are (by category) CalPortland Live Oak Ready Mix Plant and Lehigh Hanson Slaughterhouse Canyon RMC Batch Plant, Concrete; Graniterock Southside Sand & Gravel and Lehigh Hanson Clayton Quarry in Small Aggregate and Large Aggregate, respectively; Lhoist Natividad plant, Industrial Minerals; and, Lehigh Southwest Tehachapi Plant, Cement. Tom Powell of Cemex received the President’s Award for leadership as CalCIMA Chair, while Mike Donovan of Central Concrete Supply Co. and Don Vivant of Sully-Miller/United Rock Products received the Spirit of the Industry Award for leadership on returned plastic concrete specification.