ORGANIZATIONS – November 2014

The CTLGroup board elected Cary Cohrs as chairman during its fall meeting in Chicago. “[He] brings a wealth of construction-related leadership to the CTLGroup Board,” says CTLGroup CEO Brent Nixon. “We are excited to work with him in his new role as chairman, developing building solutions and new technologies to grow our global markets.”

“CTLGroup has a worldwide reputation as a firm of experts who solve complex construction problems, and it is a great honor to serve as chairman of its board,” adds Cohrs, who in addition to CTLGroup duties is 2013-14 Portland Cement Association chairman and president of American Cement Co. LLC in Sumterville, Fla.

Past American Society of Concrete Contractors President Dennis Ahal received the Lifetime Achievement Award during the ASCC Annual Conference in Denver. The award acknowledges recipients for their body of work within the industry and their service to ASCC.

Retired from Ahal Contracting Co., St. Louis, Ahal was ASCC president from 1997-1998; served on the Technical Review, Liaison, Nominating and Administrative Committees; and, led the organization’s first strategic planning process. He has also served on the American Concrete Institute board and was secretary of ACI 302, Floor Construction, for 11 years. ACI awarded him the Roger Corbetta Concrete Contractor Award in 2005, and named him Fellow two years later.

Separately, the ASCC Education, Research and Development Foundation has awarded $5,000 scholarships to California State University, Chico students Michelle Ahola, Jaymi Hill, and Shane Strick, who are all from California and enrolled in the school’s Concrete Industry Management program.

The Tilt-Up Concrete Association has announced 2014 Alphonse Engelman Safety Award recipients in two categories: Best Tilt-Up Safety Achievement—Conewago Enterprises, Big-D Construction, E.E. Reed Construction, Precision Concrete Construction, T.A.S. Commercial Concrete, and American Concrete Construction. Zero Lost Time Accident Achievement—Arch-Con Corp., AML Inc., Alston Construction Co., Bob Moore Construction, E.E. Reed Construction, Divcon Inc., SiteCast Construction, American Concrete Construction, and, Hakanson Construction. Chesapeake Contracting Group took TCA’s Most Improved Safety Achievement Award.

The U.S. Green Building Council has announced two executive team appointments: Roger Platt, president, promoted from senior vice president of Global Policy and Law, and Scot Horst, chief product officer, promoted from senior vice president of LEED. They join Rick Fedrizzi, USGBC and Green Building Certification Institute chief executive officer, and Mahesh Ramanujam, USGBC chief operating officer and GBCI president.

“This completes an executive team structure that can drive organizational excellence, deepen and expand engagement with all our stakeholders—members, market leaders, volunteers, government authorities—and continue the rapid innovation and market inspiration USGBC is known for,” Fedrizzi affirms, noting that additional restructuring will follow in the months ahead, as schools, health, international and education initiatives expand to meet a massive demand curve already underway.