OSHA seeks Construction Advisory Committee nominees

Sources: Occupational Safety and Health Administration

OSHA will hold workgroup and full Advisory Committee on Construction Safety and Health meetings, December 3-4 in Washington, D.C.—all open to the public. Established under the Contract Work Hours and Safety Standards Act and the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, the Committee advises the Labor Secretary and agency officials on construction standards and policy matters.

Assistant Secretary of Labor for Occupational Safety and Health Dr. David Michaels will address the gathering as part of an agenda calling for updates on Directorate of Construction rulemakings and issues, including the communications tower initiative; recommendations on proposed rules on New Quantitative Fit Testing Protocol: Amendment to the Final Rule on Respiratory Protection; Clarification of Employer’s Continuing Obligation to Make and Maintain Accurate Records of Each Recordable Injury and Illness; and, a presentation on 29 CFR part 1926, Subpart V, Power Transmission and Distribution.

Workgroup meetings will be held concurrently from 1-3 p.m. ET, December 3 at the U.S. Department of Labor, 200 Constitution Ave., N.W., Washington, D.C. 20210. The full committee will meet from 9 a.m.–5 p.m. the following day. Comments on agenda items and requests to speak may be submitted through November 12 at www.regulations.gov, the Federal e-Rulemaking Portal, or by mail to the Labor headquarters.

Additionally, OSHA is accepting nominations for eight new members to serve on the 15-member Advisory Committee. Nominations will be accepted from those interested in representing employee and employer (three each) plus public and state safety and health agency (one each) groups. Nominations may be submitted through January 2 at www.regulations.gov or by mail to agency headquarters. Labor Secretary Thomas Perez recently appointed six members to two-year terms:

  • Employer: Cindy DePrater, vice president and director, Environmental Health and Safety, Turner Construction Co. (new appointee), and Donald L. Pratt, president and CEO, Construction Education and Consultation Services of Michigan;
  • Employee: Palmer Hickam, director, Safety Code Training and Curriculum Development, National Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee (new appointee); and Roger Erickson, trainer, Mobilization, Optimization, Stabilization and Training, International Brotherhood of Boilermakers, Iron Ship Builders, Blacksmiths, Forgers and Helpers, AFL-CIO;
  • Public: Jeremy Bethancourt, co-owner and program director, Arizona Construction Training Alliance; and,
  • State Agency: Steven Hawkins, administrator, Tennessee Occupational Safety and Health Administration.