The National Concrete Masonry Association elected its board of directors during the NCMA Annual Convention earlier this year in Palm Springs, Calif. Dale Puskas of Basalite Concrete Products was elected NCMA chairman of the board, citing among primary goals, “Maintaining and growing market share against competitive systems, improving the recent decline in membership due to the economic downturn and the perceived value of associations in general, advocating for government regulations and establishing organizational succession planning as new leaders begin to emerge in our industry.”

Joseph Bowen of Mutual Materials was elected as chair-elect of the board of directors while Johnson Concrete’s Charles Newsome moves into the post of past-chair officer.

Elected to the NCMA Board of Directors are: Region I—Barry Diller, Nitterhouse Masonry Products; Greg McElwee, Cinder & Concrete Block Corp.; Brendan Quinn, Ernest Maier, Inc.; Jason Schmitz, York Building Products. Region II—Michael Carlson, Cemex; Tim Ortman, Oldcastle Architectural; Kent Trump, Titan Block; Kevin Vogler, Block USA. Region III—Robert Goldman, County Materials; Carol Lee, Lee Brick & Block; Bruce Loris, Oberfields LLC; Kent Waide, Ruby Concrete. Region IV—R. G. Atwood, Featherlite Building Products; Peter Browning, Salina Concrete Products; Patrick Sauter, King’s Material; Darryl Winegar, Midwest Block & Brick. Region V—Brian Austin, Amcor/Oldcastle; Phil Bonnell, Basalite Concrete Products; Wade Ficklin, Oldcastle Architectural West; Thomas Finch, RCP Block & Brick. Region VI—Gary Belisle, Oldcastle Architectural Canada; Bobby Correia, Rinox Inc.; Bruce Dick, Expocrete Concrete Products; Tony Neves, Brampton Brick.

Also on the 2014 NCMA board are Appointed Director James Hammer, Westblock Systems. Associate Member Representatives—Marshall Brown, ACM Chemistries; Paul Croushore, Lanxess Corp.; Kevin Curtis, Besser Co.; William McHugh, Grace Construction Products. Market Segment Committee Chairs—Timothy Bott, Allan Block Corp.; Rocky Jenkins, Cemex; David Mariner, Boral Stone Products.

Separately, NCMA presented David Nickerson of Concrete Block Insulating Systems with the Lifetime Achievement Award on behalf of the NCMA Council of Past Chairmen of the Board and the Board of Directors. As an active member of the association for more than 30 years, Nickerson and his company have played an instrumental role in advancing the ability of concrete masonry wall systems to meet the energy efficiency needs of homes and buildings. Their Korfil insulation inserts have been placed in more than 400 million units.

The ACI Foundation has unveiled an updated identity that more accurately represents its American Concrete Institute connection while driving progress, innovation, and collaboration in the concrete industry.

Additionally, the new identity highlights the synergy between the foundation’s three councils—Scholarship, Strategic Development, and Concrete Research. A new tagline “Knowledge to Practice” highlights the foundation’s role in identifying trends, opportunities, and needs, while taking an active role in supporting the next generation of leaders in the concrete industry.

“[This year] marks the 25th anniversary of the ACI Foundation, and we’re pleased to celebrate this milestone by unveiling a new identity,” says ACI Foundation President Ron Burg, P.E. “Since its inception, the ACI Foundation has provided hundreds of thousands of dollars in funding to worthy research projects, awarded scholarships and fellowships to over 100 students, and championed many technologies critical to the concrete industry, but much work remains. The new identity of the ACI Foundation and its three councils will help us better connect with students, researchers, business leaders, and industry stakeholders so that we can most effectively satisfy the concrete industry’s continually evolving needs.”