OSHA fills Advisory Committee on Construction Safety and Health

Source: Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Secretary of Labor Hilda Solis has appointed four new members and re-appointed two current members to the Advisory Committee on Construction Safety and Health (ACCSH). They will serve two-year terms and represent the interests of the public, employers, employees and government.

“The new ACCSH members have a wealth of knowledge and real-world experience on a breadth of safety and health issues spanning the construction industry,” said Assistant Secretary of Labor for Occupational Safety and Health Dr. David Michaels. “We want good, safe jobs for American workers, and I am confident that these new members—representing the views of labor, management, government and the public—will use their expertise to provide valuable advice and recommendations toward our shared goal.”

Two members represent the public: Jeremy Bethancourt, co-owner and program director, Arizona Construction Training Alliance, Scottsdale (new); and Letitia Davis, director, Occupational Health Surveillance Program, Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Boston (current).

Five members represent employees: Roger Erickson, mobilization, optimization, stabilization and training administrator, International Brotherhood of Boilermakers, Iron Ship Builders, Blacksmiths, Forgers and Helpers, AFL-CIO, Kansas City, Kan. (new); Walter Jones, occupational safety and health associate director, Laborers’ Health and Safety Fund of North America, Washington, D.C. (re-appointed); Gary Batykefer, administrative director, Sheet Metal Occupational Health Institute Trust, Pittsburgh (current); Laurie Shadrick, training specialist, United Association of Plumbers and Pipefitters, Arlington, Va. (current); and, Erich Stafford, director, safety and health, AFL-CIO Building and Construction Trades Department, Silver Spring, Md. (current).

Five members represent employers: Kristi Barber, president, Glen C. Barber and Associates Inc., Rapid City, S.D. (new); Donald Pratt, president and CEO, Construction Education & Consulting Services of Michigan, Auburn (new); Kevin Cannon, safety and health services director, Associated General Contractors of America, Arlington, Va. (current); Thomas Marrero, safety manager, Zenith Systems LLC, Seven Hills, Ohio (current); and, William Hering, environmental health and safety corporate manager, SM Electric Co. Inc., Rahway, N.J. (current).

Two members represent state governments: Steven Hawkins, assistant administrator, Tennessee Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Nashville (reappointed); and, Charles Stribling, occupational safety and health federal-state coordinator, Kentucky Labor Cabinet, Department of Workplace Standards, Frankfort (current). One member was appointed by the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: Matt Gillen, construction program coordinator and senior scientist, Centers for Disease Control–National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, Washington, D.C. (current).

The 15-member committee meets at least twice a year. Newly appointed and re-appointed members will join nine other current members serving the remainder of their terms. ACCSH has advised the assistant secretary of labor on construction standards and policy matters for nearly 40 years. Additional information on the committee can be obtained here.